Reviews

What people are saying about Argyle House




Very hospitable - Rating 5/5

We arrived soaked through by bike and were immediately looked after with extra towels and assistance drying our clothes.Amazing breakfast in the morning with homemade bread

Reviewer:Alexander B | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 7 hours ago


Hospitality at its best - Rating 5/5

Great location when touring the Speyside Distilleries, extremely clean, spacious rooms, comfortable mattresses, they have 6 rooms.The host of the house is ever so welcoming and helpful. They make a great homemade porridge for beakfast.Be sure to reach Toumatin before 8pm to be able to get something to eat in the area around. For all whisky lovers, they have the famous century old whishky castle right next doors so do keep an hour to browse this place and buy your favorite bottle.Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mr M | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 4 days ago


Nice place and location. - Rating 5/5

Nice and clean room. Good location within the vilage. Friendly peaople.

Reviewer:Patrik B | Mon 10th Jun 2019 | 5 days ago


Wir kommen gerne wieder - Rating 5/5

Die Lage ist sehr schön - hübscher, kleiner Ort mit mehreren Restaurants, 1 Std nach Inverness oder zur Nordsee und viele andere Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Nähe.Auch zum Wandern perfekt.Wir hatten 2 große, saubere und liebevoll eingerichtete Zimmer.Das Frühstück ist absolut fantastisch. Man hat die Wahl zwischen verschiedenen Eivariationen, Waffeln, Porridge und selbstgebackenem Brot, Quark mit Obst...Am meisten waren wir beeindruckt von der Herzlichkeit der Gastgeber.Wenn wir wieder nach Schottland fahren,dann wieder hierher :-)

Reviewer:Anja R | Fri 31st May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Good quality and location - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and warm welcome from the hosts who did everything to cater for our young family. Thank you very much and good breakfast too.

Reviewer:Aimee T | Wed 29th May 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We were very pleased with our room.It was large and comfortable with little extras that other places often lack.(i.e. a rack for your suitcase , 2 chairs, good quality toiletries.). Breakfast was delicious with a large selection to choose from.And Dianne was friendly and helpful.She does a great job.

Reviewer:Diane L | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


A very nice stay - Rating 5/5

It was a very pleasant stay. We have been received friendly and have got many tips for Tomintoul. Because of our early departure the breakfast was served to us earlier than usual ones. The room was big and clean. The house is nicely furnished.

Reviewer:Dieter H | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

The Argyle House is a nostalgic Bed &Breakfast that emphasizes the atmosphere of the area. The owners are friendly and helpfull, you feel very welcome!

Reviewer:Tim van der L | Sun 19th May 2019 | 3 weeks ago


Welcoming - Rating 5/5

Couldn't have been more welcoming to a pair of drenched cyclists. Lovely room and great breakfast, with lots of options.

Reviewer:James H | Mon 13th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Just as described- Rating 5/5

Very nice B&B and host. The room is just as described and huge! The breakfast choice and quality was great. Can recommend!

Reviewer:Mr Robin N | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Fantastic and welcoming guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Diane was exceptional! A wonderful host and a great person. This was one of the best experiences at a guesthouse we have had. Very clean and comfortable with a great breakfast. We would recommend the Argyle house to everyone.

Reviewer:Glenn S | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Three lovely days in Tomintoul- Rating 5/5

This was our first visit to Tomintoul and Argyle House but it won’t be our last.We found the village and locals to be charming and cheerful.Our host Dianne was most warm, friendly and caring person, ensuring our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast, cooked by Dianne’s husband was superb.Our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything we needed for an enjoyable 3 days.Many thanks

Reviewer:Mrs Diane J | Mon 6th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Perfect for a break in the highlands - Rating 5/5

Everything was fine for our short stay in Tomintoul

Reviewer:Gal P | Sat 4th May 2019 | 1 month ago


Argyle guest house- Rating 5/5

A lovley stay in Tomintoul! We got a warm welcom when we arrived.Great breakfast with several gluten free options!

Reviewer:Desiree P | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 1 month ago


Thank you 😊- Rating 5/5

Great as always clean friendly helpful and good breakfast all the best

Reviewer:John G | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 1 month ago


Fabulous find - Rating 5/5

What a stunning guest house, wonderful welcome, magnificent breakfast, excellent attention to detail in an interesting and quirky house of historic significance. We loved it and definitely will be back.

Reviewer:Janet M | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Really enjoyed my stay - Rating 5/5

Dear Diane, Thank you so much for everything. I really appreciated you letting us in earlier than expected and putting on the heating especially for us. Breakfast was great and I enjoyed your husbands bread.

Reviewer:Wolfgang P | Fri 19th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay at Argyll House in Tomintoul. Breakfast was delicious and the owners very polite and accomodating. We would recommend this cosy B&B.

Reviewer:Emma M | Thu 4th Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


as good as ever - Rating 5/5

Fourth visit I think. very good value for money especially the excellent breakfasts.Exceptionally clean, tastefully decorated and a guest house with heart.

Reviewer:Dr Linda J | Wed 3rd Apr 2019 | 2 months ago


Super Unterkunft- Rating 5/5

Hier passt einfach alles. Die Gastgeberin ist sehr freundlich und gibt gerne Tipps was man sich noch so anschauen kann.Die Zimmer sind sauber, die Betten bequem.Das Frühstück war der Hammer. Full Scottish Breakfast mit einem selbstgebackenen noch warmen Brot. Klasse. Jederzeit gerne wieder!

Reviewer:Sebastian H | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 2 months ago


Enjoyed our stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice spacious room. Friendly service. Breakfast was delicious. Location was great. Plenty of walks near the hotel.

Reviewer:Sue Y | Sat 23rd Mar 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Argyle Guest house for two nights (16/17th March 2019).Dianne was so helpful on the phone prior to our visit and welcomed us warmly when we arrived after a very snowy drive from Inverness airport!Our twin room had everything we needed for our stay.Breakfast was delicious!When we mentioned to anyone in the village that we were staying here they all mentioned the great breakfast!!Tomintoul is a lovely little village, a few nice shops, selling good quality items.Enough pubs/restaurants to enjoy an evening meal.The A939 was closed on our first morning, so driving to Balmoral/Braemar would prove difficult, but Dianne gave us excellent directions for the detour, which took 2 hours, but beautiful scenery!We will definitely return if we travel that way again.

Reviewer:Sue S | Thu 21st Mar 2019 | 2 months ago


Best stay during our Scotland roardtrip - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at Argyle House. Breakfast was so delicious! We are defenitly coming back.

Reviewer:Anna Luisa P | Mon 25th Feb 2019 | 3 months ago


Fantastic B and B - Rating 5/5

Great location and very friendly staff. Breakfast was good and room clean and comfortable.

Reviewer:H. G | Mon 18th Feb 2019 | 3 months ago


Homely comfort - Rating 5/5

With a friendly welcome you feel that you've come to the right place. A clean smart room with a comfy bed doesn't let down that welcome. With a good breakfast served in the same friendly manor. I would be happy to recommend Stephen and Diane at Ardyle House to anyone.p.s. I think "lonely Planet"may well be right about the oats

Reviewer:Peter C | Fri 15th Feb 2019 | 4 months ago


Awesome stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and everything was perfect. The host was so friendly and lovely. Breakfast was amazing! Great location. Thank you!

Reviewer:Erika K | Sat 19th Jan 2019 | 4 months ago


Great BnB - Rating 5/5

I received a lovely welcome from Diane. The room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Julie C | Sat 12th Jan 2019 | 5 months ago


Argyle House, Timontoul - Rating 5/5

A lovely find in a super part of Scotland. Diane and Steve were very accommodating and helpful with local knowledge.We thoroughly enjoyed our (all to brief) stay with them at Argyle House

Reviewer:Daniel S | Sun 6th Jan 2019 | 5 months ago


Great Room, Great Hospitality - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Room, Super Breakfast and Perfect Location.

Reviewer:Ram G | Tue 1st Jan 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely inviting guest house- Rating 5/5

We had a lovely one night stay at argyle housein tomuntoul, the room was cozy, the welcome warm and the breakfast delicious. There was fresh home made bread (still warm!) In the morning and the host was very welcoming and informative about the area. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Daniel B | Sun 23rd Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Nice!!!! - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel, good beds, fine breakfast, very friendly host.If it happens that we want to stay again in Tomintoul we wil stay again in Argyll House.

Reviewer:Ron s | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 7 months ago


This is the place to stay if your are in Tomintoul - Rating 5/5

after the whole day walking I arrived at the Argyle Guest House to be welcomed by the owner, I knew I had booked a great place right away. This was confirmed when I saw the room great value for money attention to detail this is the place to stay if you are visiting Tomintoul.

Reviewer:Kim E | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 7 months ago


5 stars - Rating 5/5

Amazing place, delicious food and friendly atmosphere.

Reviewer:Karolina J | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Just amazing- Rating 5/5

Das Argyle guesthouse hat grossen Charme und uns unglaublich gut gefallen. Hier stimmt alles, die Location, der Komfort, das Frühstück und die Herzlichkeit der Gastgeberin.Tomintoul ist ein ruhiger, wunderschöner kleiner Ort in den Highlands und wir würden auf jeden Fall wieder hier übernachten. Danke an Dianne

Reviewer:Isabel H | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 8 months ago


Good stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice suite room with a huge bathroom.The breakfast is very good as well

Reviewer:Laura G | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Had a very nice stay. Super friendly and excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Nicolas H | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


just as good on the return visit. Thanks - Rating 5/5

Argyle House is a little gem. Sparklingly clean with the best breakfast. Something for everyone. As a vegetarian the choice is so much more imaginative than the Scottish breakfast without meat :-)Friendly from beginning to end. Great value for money in a lovely village.Dr Linda Jones

Reviewer:Dr L. J | Thu 13th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


Bel soggiorno - Rating 4/5

Buon soggiorno in questo bel paesino.proprietaria gentilissima e ottima colazione

Reviewer:Claudia L | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 9 months ago


ComfortableB and B - Rating 5/5

We recieved a very warm welcone when we arrived at Argyle House.The bedroom was clean and the shower was powerful, which made us very happy.The breakfast was really good.

Reviewer:V. G | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 9 months ago


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

We had such a nice time. Our room was perfectly fine and Dianne was the best host we could wish for. We decided to stay longer, because she was just adorable.By the way:coffee is 10 out of 10 ;-)

Reviewer:Kim P | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Our room was fairly basic but clean &comfortable. Shared bathroom but the facilities were great and very spacious.Fantastic owner( Diane) who was so friendly, helpful and kind to us &our little dog.Lovely breakfast, thankyou we had a great time &would love to come back.

Reviewer:Alan B | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 11 months ago


Gastfreundschaft - Rating 5/5

Top! Sehr freundlich und sauber. Tolles Frühstück von einer tollen Gastgeberin.

Reviewer:Till K | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Sehr gemütliches B&B - Rating 4/5

Gemütliches B&B mit einer sehr netten Gastgeberin.Das Zimmer (mit zwei Einzelbetten) war groß genug und sauber, genauso wie das Gemeinschaftsbad.Beim Frühstück kam jeder - je nach Präferenz - auf seinen Geschmack.

Reviewer:Jochen S | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian